10 Things I Do To Escape Negativity

You can’t live a positive life with a negative mind.

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
4 min readJun 16, 2022

Today, I wasn’t feeling my best.

Despite having good boundaries in place, the negative thoughts can still creep in. When this happens I have a list of go-to self-care activities and I thought I would share these with you.

Meditation

I always thought meditation was sitting crossed-legged on the floor and clearing your mind completely, which, quite frankly, feels impossible for me. I gave up trying to meditate for ages until it was explained to me that is not the case.

The actual definition of meditation, according to Merriam-Webster, is:

1: to engage in contemplation or reflection.

2: to engage in mental exercise (such as concentration on one’s breathing or repetition of a mantra) for the purpose of reaching a heightened level of spiritual awareness

Each morning, I make myself a cup of tea, set a timer for 10 minutes and sit in silence, letting my brain do what it wants to, which is usually worry, roll off my list of things I need to do and a few other odd random thoughts.

I have noticed that if I skip doing this for a few days, my brain slowly fills up, the thoughts having not been given their morning freedom and the overwhelm kicks in.

I have also found that if something I perceive as negative happens throughout the day, stopping to…

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.