Can Chaos Lead to Calm? My Surprising Start to 2024

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
5 min readFeb 20, 2024

Hello lovelies,

I’m finally getting myself back into the swing of things with my blog posts after taking a much-needed extended break over the Christmas period. Well, I say break. I was still writing, but I wanted to shake things up a little bit, so I needed a little bit longer.

After thinking about what I want to achieve in 2024, I didn’t throw myself in with reckless abandon on the 1st of January. Instead, I took small baby steps. I have to say, after a rocky start, it’s not going too bad.

I didn’t go back to work until the 8th of January, so I thought I would kick off my action plan then and make the most of the final days off.

Body Breakthrough

I got straight back into it on the first Monday back with a 3-mile morning walk. I did a strength training session the following day and then another 3-mile walk the day after that. I was killing it!

Later that Wednesday, I started to feel like I was coming down with something. This always seems to happen when I try to live a healthier lifestyle, but rather than give in and say healthy living is not for me, I decided to ask Auntie Google.

I was surprised to learn that my body was probably releasing something to repair my muscles, making you feel flu-like symptoms. Wow, that’s pretty bloody clever of the body! Still, this did not help me in that moment. I was exhausted; my hormones were playing havoc and making my gums sore, and…

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.