Could Growing Older Be Making Me Bolder?

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
4 min readApr 11, 2024

A post from Clare H Writes

Today is my birthday.

It’s that one day of the year when it’s all about celebrating me. But have you ever noticed how some people seem to dread their birthdays as they age? They keep it low-key, avoiding any fuss or attention. Yeah, I’m not one of those people.

As I get older, I’ve been thinking a lot about my life. Sometimes, when I look back, I hardly recognise the person I used to be!

Remember that post I wrote in January about being more myself in 2024? Well, let me tell you, pushing back against that negative voice inside has been really paying off.

Since starting my business, I have signed up for endless emails, newsletters and podcasts. If it’s about running a business, copywriting, mindset, productivity – you name it, I’ve probably signed up for it at one point.

I didn’t ease myself into self-employment gently. I hit the ground running, grabbing every opportunity with both hands and quite honestly, I hit a wall, well, more of a barbed wire fence.

After my brain practically exploded from trying to follow the often conflicting advice on being a freelance writer, another run-in with my old friend imposter syndrome and giving too much air time to my inner critic, I did the most productive thing I had done in a while. I started unsubscribing and took a step back to breathe.

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.