Did I Really Discover a Way To Silence My Negative Voice?

And it doesn’t cost a thing.

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
3 min readMay 15, 2023

Last week, I tried to combat my negative self-talk by writing positive things.

I would love to say it worked overnight and I am cured of that evil voice in my head, but sadly that isn’t quite the case.

If anything, the voice began to get meaner, feeding off of the low mood it had put me in. I spent some time with friends at the weekend, which helped, but when I didn’t have plans I wanted to stay in, scrolling social media, making myself feel worse.

On the Bank holiday Monday, I had an entire day all to myself, which I was looking forward to. I had toyed with the idea of working to keep myself busy, but I decided to have a day of no plans and just do what I felt like doing on the day.

I spent the first of my waking hours crying, again. The evil voice appeared telling me all the bad things about myself. I felt like a child in a school, being bullied and called names. WTF is happening to me?

Since having my last therapy session, I am so much more aware of this voice, it almost feels like they are a real person. As much as I know that this has to stop, I also know that I need to work through whatever this is, instead of distracting myself or burying it. It’s not going to go away and I have come too far to go back now.

Other things were starting to make sense now, like my reaction to certain things. For example, I woke…

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.