What Happens When Getting The Wrong Help Causes You More Worry

The right therapist for you is essential

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
3 min readJan 15, 2017

I was unsure when I first met with the counsellor, she reminded me of a bit of a headmistress type.

The sessions were at her house and it was in a cosy sectioned off corner of her living room. She asked me why I was there and I started to explain that I had been told I had anxiety, done the CBT etc but now it seems to have come back with a vengeance and I wanted to try to figure out if there was an underlying cause or trigger.

After my explanation, she just stayed silent, so I felt obliged to fill the silence and didn’t shut up for the rest of the hour, as with the CBT sessions, I felt lighter and like it had been worth doing. We decided on fortnightly sessions and I booked in for my next appointment.

Looking back, I realise that she was not the right counsellor for me. I felt a little bit like she was judging me, which I never had with the CBT therapist, with her I felt like I was having a conversation with a friend but, I just didn’t get that click with this counsellor.

Maybe I should have looked for someone new, but as you may have guessed, I am not a fan of change and didn’t want to go through the rigmarole of opening the floodgates again as it could be quite emotionally draining.

I continued to attend my sessions for a few months, but I found myself not wanting to leave my house at all. I am usually a…

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.