Haircuts and Heart Monitors: My Midlife Crisis Continues

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
7 min readOct 3, 2023

Despite my blood pressure woes, I somehow managed to turn my mood around, which was fortunate as we had a rather sociable weekend.

We had a wedding reception on the Friday evening at the stunning Woodhall Manor. It really had the wow factor. It was a friend of the husband, and we had a really good time.

We travelled home the following day and went off to celebrate the bestie’s little boy’s birthday in the evening. It was at their house, and it was a relatively calm and chilled evening for a change! I caught up with some of my favourite people and was fortunate not to feel too ropey from the night before. I was grateful to have a Sunday with no plans where I could surround myself with every fan we owned to try and keep cool.

On Monday, the weekend caught up with me, and when my alarm went off at 6:30 a.m. I realised that my enthusiasm for getting up and going for a walk had withered and died during the night. I switched it off and tried to wake up gradually, but the grogginess wouldn’t shift.

The anxiety began to build as the morning went on as I patiently waited for the doctor to call for my 9:20 appointment. As 9:30 came and went, I began to feel annoyed; I had to leave for an appointment at 9:45. I specifically said I wanted a telephone appointment; had I got the time wrong or the date?

Can you imagine if I rocked up to my doctor’s appointment this late? Then, I thought I had not received a confirmation text…

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.