Reality Check: New Year, Same Me

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
3 min readJan 30, 2024

Hello lovelies,

Before I return to my usual posts, I decided it wouldn’t be a January post if I didn’t start the year with some self-reflection.

2023 certainly wasn’t my worst year, but it wasn’t exactly my best. On the plus side, I learned A LOT about myself, mainly through my fortnightly therapy sessions, and this has had an ongoing positive impact. Still, the year wasn’t without its challenges and my battle with my mental health and what felt like the entire medical profession certainly took its toll. By the time December had rolled around, I was glad to have a couple of weeks off work.

The Fear Factor: Change vs Status Quo

I believe you can set and change your goals at any time throughout the year, but I always find January a good time to look at what you want out of life. Most people are optimistic about the blank page before them, which seems much more possible.

Change has been something that I usually try to avoid; the unknown is just plain scary sometimes, BUT if I don’t change, nothing else will change, and after the last few years, I am beginning to learn that change doesn’t have to be that way and a lot of the time it’s actually quite a positive — I just need to stop having a meltdown beforehand.

From New Year Resolutions to Year-Long Revolution

I just shared a post about the lessons I’ve picked up in the past few years. In the last…

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.