Relaxing, Retail Therapy & Remarkable Food — 8 Nights in Crete

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
8 min readJul 10, 2023

I woke up early, realising that today we would be leaving Santorini. I felt sad that we would no longer wake up to this glorious view but I was looking forward to having some pool time in Crete.

We got up and had our final breakfast on the terrace before repacking our cases ready for another ferry ride, which would be considerably shorter and more reasonable than our last one.

We arrive at Fira port an hour before our ferry is due to depart. It looks like complete chaos, people are just being dropped off in any old place and it’s unclear which gate we need to go to.

We find a woman who looks like she works here and she tells us which gate we need, fortunately, there is a restaurant right next to our gate and we find ourselves a seat and order drinks and watch the frenzy of the port. Our ferry is a little late but we board quickly and are soon on our way.

We soon arrive in Heraklion in Crete to a crowd of drivers holding up signs, I breathe a sigh of relief when I see a lady holding mine up.

Does anyone else live in constant fear that it’s all going to go wrong? I spend 90% of my life worrying about stupid stuff, such as drivers not turning up, hotels not having our booking, and having the wrong dates, despite having confirmation of all of this. It’s exhausting!

We settle down for the long journey of just over 2 hours, our driver gets us there as quickly as possible even…

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.