The Never-Ending Journey For The Solution to My Midlife Sorrows

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️
4 min readSep 13, 2023

When Wednesday arrived, I took a much-needed day off after all the doctor drama earlier that week.

I went to London to meet my friend for lunch, ate and drank what I wanted, and didn’t think about all the turmoil I’d been feeling. I wanted to forget everything for just one day, and I did.

The following day, it all came crashing down on me like a ton of bricks. As soon as I opened my laptop, I felt instantly overwhelmed. I pushed and pushed through that morning, determined not to crack, and I have to say, for once, pushing against my resistance paid off.

I managed to turn things around and even returned some parcels I had left until the last minute. Although I did feel annoyed with myself about it, when I got back, I was feeling almost normal. My husband was faffing with the printer, so I tried to help with that. Just as I was starting to relax, my phone rang. I took a deep breath; I just wanted this one hour to chill out before I had to get back to work.

I got off the phone feeling like I was carrying the weight of everyone’s problems. No one had given them to me; I just seemed to take it upon myself to try and figure out everyone’s worries when I didn’t need to.

I sat down and started Googling how to solve the husband’s printer issues. Again, he hadn’t asked me to. When I finally broke, I felt so overwhelmed; I couldn’t think straight, I couldn’t focus, and I just wanted to cry.

--

--

Clare - This Is Still Me♥️

Join me as I conquer my 40s with humor and honesty. From Marriage to Step-Parenting, Perimenopause to freelancing – I'm spilling it all.